Skip to content
Skip to navigation
05 Jul 2023

Residential aged care quality indicators quarterly update (January to March 2023)

Quality indicators (QI) measure aspects of service provision that contribute to the quality of care given by residential aged care services (RACS). Since 1 July 2019, participation in the National Aged Care Mandatory Quality Indicator Program (QI Program) has been a requirement for all Australian Government-subsidised RACS. Until 30 June 2021, the QI Program included 3 QIs (pressure injuries, physical restraint, and unplanned weight loss). Since 1 July 2021, the QI Program requires these services to report on 5 QIs:

  • Pressure injuries
  • Physical restraint
  • Unplanned weight loss
  • Falls and major injury
  • Medication management
This release is the seventh quarterly publication on the expanded QI Program, reporting residential aged care QI data from January to March 2023. 

To view the latest quality indicators data, visit the Residential Aged Care Quality Indicators — latest release page under the 'Topics' menu on the GEN website.