Skip to content
Skip to navigation
30 Apr 2024

Residential aged care quality indicators quarterly update (October to December 2023)

Quality indicators (QI) measure aspects of service provision that contribute to the quality of care given by residential aged care services (RACS). Since 1 July 2019, participation in the National Aged Care Mandatory Quality Indicator Program (QI Program) has been a requirement for all Australian Government-subsidised RACS. Until 30 June 2021, the QI Program included 3 QIs (pressure injuries, physical restraint, and unplanned weight loss). This suite has since been expanded twice, with 2 additional indicators added in July 2021 and a further 6 indicators added in April 2023. The current 11 quality indicators include:

  • Pressure injuries
  • Use of physical restraint
  • Unplanned weight loss
  • Falls and major injury
  • Medication management
  • Activities of daily living
  • Incontinence care
  • Hospitalisations
  • Workforce
  • Consumer experience
  • Quality of life

This release is the tenth quarterly publication of the QI Program, and the second report to include all 11 indicators. It includes QI measurements from data collected by residential aged care services from 1 October to 31 December 2023. 

To view the latest quality indicators data, visit the Residential Aged Care Quality Indicators — latest release page under the 'Topics' menu on the GEN website. 

Topics:    Quality in aged care

For further information

Full publication